Student Scriptwriting Competition

Competition Co-Chairs
Fred Jones, Southeast Missouri State University
Michael Coutanche, Ryerson University

BEA Best of Festival King Foundation Award

Kael O’Malley, Florida State University
“The Vermont”

Short Subject Category (15 – 35 pages)

1st Place: Kenny Wheeler, Missouri State University
“South of Black Drink Crier”

2nd Place: Gina Ruoti, Califonia State University – Northridge
“Tree of Knowledge”

3rd Place: Hannah Bayens, Loyola University – Chicago
“Something Blue”

Feature Category (90 – 120 pages)

1st Place: Kael O’Malley, Florida State University
“The Vermont”

2nd Place: Sara Coover Caldwell, Califonia State University – Northridge
“The Pied Piper”

3rd Place: Christopher Childs, California State University – Northridge
“The King of Bath”

Original TV Series Pilot Category (hour or 1/2 hour long)

1st Place: Kevin Hill, Southern Illinois University – Carbondale
“Confetti: The Pilot”

2nd Place (Tie): Karyn Barnett, San Francisco State University
“Pros and Cons”

2nd Place (Tie): Carol S. Harris, Missouri State University

TV Spec Category (hour or 1/2 hour long)

1st Place: Alan McCafferty, Justyna Syska, Dan Reid, Karina Estrada Gonzalez, & Tony Hirschenberger
Purdue University – Calumet
“Dexter: Desconstructing Harry”

2nd Place: Ryan Rodman, Missouri State University
“Glee: Bad Girls Club”

3rd Place: Jonathan King, Missouri State University
“Californication: Fake Grass Grows Quickly”

%d bloggers like this: